The Iowa Commission on the Status of Women (ICSW) is made up of seven Governor-appointed Commissioners. Like all statewide Boards and Commissions, the ICSW is balanced for gender and political affiliation.

Brochure: ICSW Brochure
Priorities: 2015 Issues and Policy Priorities

If you would like more information on the ICSW or on the Office on the Status of Women within the Iowa Department of Human Rights, please
e-mail us.


Phyllis Peters, Chair Ames
Tom Carnahan Davenport
Elizabeth Coonan Des Moines
David Gudenkauf Cascade
Rachelle Hunt Russian Des Moines
Aaron Sewell West Des Moines
Sherill Whisenand Des Moines

Ex-Officio Members

San Wong, Director Iowa Department of Human Rights
Sanjita Pradhan, Executive Officer Iowa Department of Human Rights
Kristen Corey, Program Planner Iowa Department of Human Rights

If you are interested in applying to serve on a state Board or Commission, please apply through the Office of the Governor.